31st Annual IEEE Bipolar / BiCMOS Circuits and Technology Meeting

19-21 October 2017

Miami, Florida, USA

Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay


Call for Papers

The IEEE Bipolar/BiCMOS Circuits and Technology Meeting (BCTM) is the premier forum for technical communication focused on the needs and interests of the bipolar and BiCMOS community. Papers covering the design, modeling, performance, fabrication, testing and application of bipolar and BiCMOS integrated circuits and devices as well as high-performance circuits using other competitive technologies such as CMOS, SiC, GaN, GaAs, and InP are solicited. All papers must be suitable for a twenty-minute presentation. Text and figures must not have been presented at other conferences or published in any scientific or technical publications prior to BCTM.

Publication in the 2017 BCTM Proceedings does not preclude publication in an IEEE journal, and authors are encouraged to do so after the conference. A special section of the IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits will include selected papers from 2017 BCTM.

Papers are solicited in the following areas:

ANALOG/MIXED SIGNAL: Analog ICs, Mixed analog/digital ICs – Digital ICs – DACs and ADCs – Operational amplifiers – Voltage references and regulators – Integrated filters – Sensors and actuators – Networking ICs, MUX/DEMUX, Clock and data recovery, Decision circuits, Equalizers – Optical data links, Laser and modulator drivers – Gate arrays – Cell libraries – High-voltage ICs – Biomedical electronics – Power Management ICs – Energy harvesting ICs – Motor controls – Analog subsystems within a VLSI chip – Packaging of high-performance ICs.

DEVICE PHYSICS: New device physics phenomena in Si, SiGe, SiC, GaN MOS, and III-V devices – Device design issues and scaling limits – Hot electron effects and reliability physics – Transport and high field phenomena – Noise – Linearity/Distortion – Novel measurement techniques – Operation in extreme environments (low and high temperatures, radiation effects).

MODELING/SIMULATION: Improved BJT and HBT models – Behavioral modelling techniques – Parameter extraction methods and test structures – De-embedding techniques – RF and thermal simulation techniques – Modelling of passives, interconnect and packages – Statistical modelling – Device, process and circuit simulation – CAD/modelling of power devices – packaging of power devices and ESD phenomena.

PROCESS TECHNOLOGY: Advances in all aspects of BiCMOS processes and device structures – Process technology and advanced processing techniques related to SiGe heterojunction bipolar devices, Si bipolar devices, and III-V heterojunction devices – Manufacturing solutions and yield improvements for bipolar/BiCMOS – Fabrication and integration of high-performance passive components, including MEMs – Process technology for discrete and integrated bipolar/BiCMOS power devices, IGBT, RF power devices, and DMOS – Wide bandgap bipolar devices (SiC, GaN, GaAs) and related process technology – Reliability aspects of SiGe, Si, and III-V devices, especially relating to process improvements and advanced processing  techniques.

WIRELESS CIRCUITS: RF and millimeter-wave circuits and systems – THz circuits – Radio and transceiver subsystems – Low Noise Amplifiers – Automatic gain control – Mixers – Voltage controlled oscillators – Frequency synthesizers – Power amplifiers – High-speed data converters – RF switches – Suppression of noise and distortion – RF Packaging – Integrated RF passives.

Best Paper Awards: Papers must be clearly marked as ‘STUDENT SUBMISSION’ in the paper submission system to be eligible for the Best Student Paper Award. Non-student papers will be eligible for the Best Paper Award.

If you know of people who may have papers to contribute, please bring this Call to their attention.



Friday, 7 April, 2017:  Deadline for receipt of abstract and four page manuscript.

Friday, 16 June, 2017:  Notification of acceptance to be sent by email.

Tuesday, 5 September, 2017:  Final proceedings manuscript due.



Visit the conference website: ieee-bctm.org, or contact:

Catherine Shaw
Conference Manager
Phone: 1-732-501-3334
e-mail: cshaw.cmpevents@gmail.com